PC Gamer’s Game of the Year Awards 2023

PC Gamer's Game of the Year Awards 2023

PC Gamer's Game of the Year Awards 2023

2023 has been a year marked by innovation, surprises, and exceptional gameplay experiences. As the curtain descends on this thrilling chapter, PC Gamer enters the spotlight with its annual Game of the Year Awards. A culmination of nominations from the dedicated editorial team and spirited global discussions have birthed a list that reflects the diverse and ever-evolving nature of PC gaming. Each award category is a nod to the outstanding contributions of games that have left an indelible mark on the industry. With personal favorites and eagerly awaited reveals still to come, the gaming community is poised for an exciting countdown to the ultimate accolade; the coveted Game of the Year, set to be unveiled on December 30. Get ready to celebrate the excellence that has defined PC gaming in 2023.

The Selection Process


PC Gamer’s Game of the Year awards are no mere popularity contest. The meticulous process involves each editorial team member nominating up to six games released in 2023, accompanied by an additional vote for the ongoing game that left the most significant mark this year. The nominations set the stage for a virtual showdown where passionate arguments and advocacy determine which games are cut. The result? A list that reflects the varied tastes and preferences of the PC gaming community.

The Awards Unveiled


  • Best Ongoing Game: Warhammer 40,000: Darktide
    The grim and relentless Warhammer 40,000 universe takes the crown for the Best Ongoing Game. Darktide’s immersive world and continuous updates have kept players engaged, showcasing the power of ongoing narratives in the gaming landscape.
  • Best Stealth: Shadow Gambit: The Cursed Crew
    Stealth enthusiasts rejoice as Shadow Gambit: The Cursed Crew sneaks into the limelight. The game’s intricate stealth mechanics and gripping narrative make it a standout in a genre that demands finesse and strategy.
  • Best Remake: System Shock
    Nostalgia meets cutting-edge technology in the remake of System Shock. The game pays homage to its roots while delivering a modern gaming experience, proving that classics can indeed stand the test of time.
  • Best Fighting Game: Street Fighter 6
    The legendary Street Fighter franchise returns with its sixth installment, claiming the title of Best Fighting Game. With a blend of familiar faces and new contenders, Street Fighter 6 continues to be the epitome of competitive fighting games.
  • Best Action: Armored Core 6
    Mechs, mayhem, and adrenaline-pumping action define Armored Core 6 as the Best Action Game in 2023. The game’s intense combat and customizable mechs set it apart in a genre that demands high-octane thrills.
  • Best Open World: Tchia
    Embark on a breathtaking journey in the open world of Tchia, crowned as the Best Open World Game. With stunning visuals and a vast, immersive landscape, Tchia invites players to explore and discover the secrets it holds.
  • Best Setting: Dredge
    Step into Dredge’s atmospheric and mysterious world, named the Best Setting of 2023. The game captivates with its unique environment, drawing players into a narrative woven seamlessly into its surroundings.

Upcoming Awards


As the anticipation builds, PC Gamer teases us with the promise of more awards to come:


  • Best Design: To be revealed on December 25.
  • Best Shooter: Unveiled on December 26.
  • Best Adventure: Secrets revealed on December 27.
  • Best Story: The narrative unfolds on December 28.
  • Best Expansion: A world of possibilities revealed on December 29.
  • Game of the Year: The ultimate winner takes the spotlight on December 30.


As the gaming community eagerly awaits the unfolding of PC Gamer’s Game of the Year Awards 2023, one thing is clear, 2023 has been a phenomenal year for PC gaming. These awards not only recognize excellence but also serve as a testament to the industry’s ability to innovate and captivate audiences worldwide. Stay tuned as the countdown continues, leading to the grand revelation of the Game of the Year on December 30.

Exit mobile version